The time Missouri volleyball won the SEC championship

One of the hardest things about covering a team as good as Missouri volleyball (and Columbia volleyball, but I don’t go to school there) is maintaining reportorial distance. I’m not supposed to be a fan; I don’t cheer at games; the only time I show emotion during games is when I put my hand on my heart for the national anthem or smile at a particularly astounding play.

But when the Tigers won the SEC, I couldn’t help but feel a little emotional. I’ve watched these players closely throughout the season, I’ve interviewed most of them, and that simple investment of TIME that a beat reporter puts into his or her beat has made it hard not to care about my beat.

So when that last set from senior Molly Kreklow turned into that last kill from senior Lisa Henning, I choked back my internal emotion. The seniors hoisted the championship trophy.

And I wrote my story.

Missouri volleyball games wouldn’t be the same without army of helpers

Leave a Reply

