The time I went to a Chiefs game

Editor Greg Bowers told me last week to (a) be more creative, and (b) stop starting stories with a plan. I had a minor revelation where I realized that I live my life based on plans, and if I stop doing that, maybe my life will be more fulfilling/full/exciting/interesting/?.

Unfortunately, I spent the entire day before my last story trying to not plan, which shows that I’m not quite there yet. But at least I’m thinking about it.

I was still thinking about it when my roommate and I went to a Chiefs game Sunday with minimal planning: We got cheap, close parking because we didn’t plan ahead. We also had to walk all the way back to the car (thank goodness it was close) because we didn’t fully investigate the no bags rule ahead of time.

As my colleague Seth Boster said about stories, you win some, you lose some. I said you win a few and lose a lot, but that’s not very optimistic.

The new and improved Rebecca would never say that. Not while she’s busy writing blogolumns about the Chiefs game.

Update 10/4/13: The blogolumn didn’t pass muster for the Missourian, so you can read it here.  

Leave a Reply

